Friday, February 8, 2019

Eddie Harris - Live At Newport

Eddie Harris hit the 1970 Newport Jazz Festival head on with his satchel of electronic sax gear, funky soul/jazz track record, and a quartet with Jodie Christian now anchored on electric piano. Naturally there would be some funk on display ("Carry on Brother") and guest vocalist Eugene McDaniels, composer of "Compared to What," comes up with a lame, hectoring sequel, "Silent Majority." Yet a good deal of this truncated edition of Harris' Newport set is pitched at a more abstract level. "Don't You Know the Future's in Space," with its tumbling drums and outbreaks of near freeform reed trumpet (a Harris invention), is already in progress when we fade into the track, and "South Side" is a rough-and-tumble jazz sprint, with Harris delivering a complex cerebral solo. These advanced tracks didn't win him any points with the critics of the time but hindsight reveals that harmonically as well as electronically, Harris was ahead of most of the pack. As a bonus, the LP includes a short post-set speech in which Harris prophesizes that his reed trumpet will be a godsend for brass players (who, alas, completely ignored it). - by Richard S. Ginell, AMG

Artist: Eddie Harris
Album: Live At Newport
Year: 1970 (Atlantic Records)
Label: WEA Japan, 2013 - 24bit ResolutionCD)
Runtime: 38:31
Recorded live at Newport Jazz Festival

1.  Children's Song (Eddie Harris) 6:13
2.  Carry On Brother (Eddie Harris) 5:12
3.  Don't You Know Your Future's In Space (Eddie Harris) 8:06
4.  Silent Majority (Gene McDaniels) 5:47
5.  Walk Soft (Eddie Harris) 4:15
6.  South Side (Eddie Harris) 8:55

Eddie Harris (Tenor Saxophone, Varitone)
Jodie Christian (Piano, Electric Piano)
Louis Spears (Double Bass)
Robert Crowder (Drums)
Eugene McDaniels (Vocals) - 4

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Maceo Parker - Life on Planet Groove

A scorching album of funky grooves from Maceo Parker, assisted by the rest of the JB's on backing horns. The album was recorded in concert at a club called Stadtgarten in Cologne, Germany, and the crowd seems just as responsive in most ways as any Atlanta mob. Along with the JB horns, Vincent Henry accompanies on bass throughout the album/concert. The album starts out with an original Maceo composition, then moves into a pair from his old boss James Brown. After that, there's another Maceo number, a cover of "Addictive Love," a rendition of "Georgia on My Mind," and a composition undertaken by a veritable army of funk veterans. This is probably just about the best solo Maceo Parker album there is, at least until the release of Funkoverload. If you're a funk fan, or a soul-jazz fan, this album might just provide what you need. Maceo on his own always provides a nice collection of soul and funk, and this one is no exception. - by Adam Greenberg, AMG

Artist: Maceo Parker
Album: Life on Planet Groove
Year: 1992
Label: Minor Music
Runtime: 74:10

1.  Shake Everything You've Got (Maceo Parker) 16:15
2.  Pass The Peas (Charles Bobbit/James Brown/John Starks) 11:12
3.  I Got You (I Feel Good) (James Brown) 3:38
4.  Got To Get U (Maceo Parker)6:56
5.  Addictive Love (Love/Keith Thomas/The Winans) 8:37
6.  Children's World (Maceo Parker) 6:07
7.  Georgia On My Mind (Hoagy Carmichael/Stuart Gorrell) 7:12
8.  Soul Power (James Brown/Byrd/Bootsy Collins/Maceo Parker/Troutman) 14:13
Recorded live at the Stadgarten Restaurant, Cologne, Germany

Maceo Parker (Alto Saxophone and Vocals)
Fred Wesley (Trombone and Vocals)
Pee Wee Ellis (Tenor Saxophone, Flute and Vocals)
Rodney Jones (Guitar)
Larry Goldings (Hammond Organ)
Kenwood Dennard (Drums)
Vincent Henry (Bass Guitar and Alto Saxophone)
Kym Mazelle (Vocals) - 3,4,8
Candy Dulfer (Alto Saxophone) - 5,8


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...