Monday, April 30, 2018

Ruben Gonzalez - Chanchullo

While perhaps a little bit more rambling and less focused than his American solo debut Introducing Ruben Gonzalez, this album nonetheless presents some lush piano arrangements supported by mellow Cuban percussion. Gonzalez is an extremely fluid player and his sometimes complex improvisations seem to constantly come off without a hitch, which is amazing considering that he is in his eighties. The songs range from sweet and light to more passionate and forceful, but throughout, Gonzalez's unique sense of joy shines through. This album also features a brief appearance from vocalist Ibrahim Ferrer, who gained fame with Gonzalez through his work with the Buena Vista Social Club. That project has spawned a number of albums which, surprisingly, have nearly all been quality productions. This recording is certainly not the exception to the rule. - by Stacia Proefock, AMG

Artist: Ruben Gonzalez
Album: Chanchullo
Year: 2000
Label: World Circuit
Runtime: 51:03

1.  Chanchullo (Israel Lopez) 5:12
2.  De Una Manera Espantosa (Arsenio Rodriguez) 4:18
3.  La Lluvia 5:18 (Amadio Valdes/Orlando " Cachaito"Lopez/Miguel "Angá" Diaz/Jesus " Aguaje" Ramos/Rubén González)
4.  Central Constancia (Enrique Jorrín) 5:57
5.  Quizás, Quizás (Joe Davis/Osvaldo Farrés) 2:29
6.  Choco's Guajira (Alfredo "Chocolate" Armenteros) 6:52
7.  Si Te Contará (Félix Reina) 1:28
8.  El Bodeguero (Richard Egües) 5:12
9.  Isora Club (Coralia Lopez/Israel "Cachao" Lopez) 5:35
10.  Rico Vacilón (Rossendo Ruiz, Jr) 4:12
11.  Pa' Gozar (Aristides Soto/Tata Güines) 4:30

Ruben Gonzalez (Piano)
Orlando "Cachaito" Lopez (Double Bass)
Amadito Valdes (Timbalez)
Angel Terry (Congas)
Roberto Garcia (Bongos, Cowbell, Guiro)
Alberto Valdes (Maracas)
Alejandro Pichardo Perez (Guiro, Cave)
Manuel Mirabal (Trumpet)
Jesus Ramos (Trombone, Vocals)
Miguel "Angá" Diaz (Congas) - 2,3,6
Ibrahim Ferrer (Vocals) - 2,6
Richard Egües (Flute) - 4,5
Cheikh Lo (Vocals) - 6
Lazaro Villa (Vocals) - 4
Joaquín Oliveiras (Flute) - 4
Javier Zalba (Baritone Saxophone) - 1
Lazaro Ordonez Enriquez (Violin) - 4
Eliades Ochoa (Guitar) - 5
Papi Oviedo (Tres) - 6
Ry Cooder (Tres) - 10
Joachim Cooder (Drums) - 10

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Bugge Wesseltoft - New Conception of Jazz

Within the framework of his project New Conception of Jazz, Bugge successfully fused elements of jazz, house, techno, ambient, noise and free improvisation. This sound has been referred to as Future Jazz. In addition to grand piano and Fender Rhodes, Bugge uses different keyboards, percussion instruments, samplers, programming devices, and vocal effects, both in live performances and in studio recordings. For the studio recording of New Conception of Jazz (recorded in 1994), the first album from this project, Bugge gathered an impressive crew from some of the best new talent in Norwegian jazz: Ingebrigt Flaten (bass), Anders Engen (drums), Vidar Johansen (reeds), Eivind Aarset (guitar), Bjorn Kjellemyr (bass), Rune Arnesen (drums), Nils Petter Molvaer (trumpet). The recording took place during three sessions during a single week. The musicians followed schemes and notes written by Bugge, but in fact most of it was improvised. The resulting sounds were then mixed and edited by Bugge. The CD was released in 1996 by Jazzland. Playing with musicians as part of an improvising collective is an important aspect of this project, and Bugge has stated that he will always take this approach, in the studio or on the live stage. The first concert took place in Bergen at the NattJazz Festival in May that same year. The line-up was: Bugge (Fender Rhodes, Prophet 5 and looping), Ingebrigt Flaten (bass), Anders Engen (drums), Eivind Aarset (guitar, effects), Erlend Gjerde (trumpet), and Vidar Johansen (tenor/soprano sax and bass clarinet). - From Bugge's website

Artist: Bugge Wesseltoft
Album: New Conception of Jazz
Year: 1996
Label: Jazzland Records
Runtime: 56:37

1.  Somewhere in Between 4:48
2.  New Conception of Jazz 5:10
3.  Spectre Supreme 5:52
4.  Trouble 4:58
5.  New Conception of Jazz 2 7:19
6.  Trio 7:01
7.  Poem 6:52
8.  My Street 5:35
9.  Modular 6:42
10.  Endless 2:20
All compositions by Bugge Wesseltoft

Bugge Wesseltoft (Electronics, Vocals, El. Piano, Sythesizer, Piano, Percussion, Hammond Organ)
Vidar Johansen (Bass Clarinet and Tenor Saxophon) - 1-5,7,9,10
Trude Eick (Waldhorn) - 1-3,5,7,9
Ingebrigt Flaten (Double Bass) - 1,4,5
Anders Engen (Drums) - 1,4,5
Jens Petter Atonsen (Trumpet) - 2,3,9
Bjorn Kjellemyr (Double Bass and Bass Guitar) - 6,8,9
Rune Arnesen (Drums) - 6,8,9
Sjur Miljeteig (Trumpet) - 1,5
Sveinung Hovensje (Bass Guitar) - 7,10
Audun Kleive (Drums and Electronics) - 3
Eivind Aarseth (Guitar) - 4
Erlend Gjerde (Trumpet) - 4
Nils Petter Molvaer (Trumpet) - 7
Michy (Vocals) - 8


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...