Thursday, November 30, 2017

Bob Stewart - Goin' Home

The second recording by tuba player Bob Stewart's First Line Band is even better than the first. In 1988, Stewart's group also included trumpeter James Zoller, trombonist Steve Turre, guitarist Jerome Harris and either Buddy Williams or Ed Blackwell on drums; trumpeter Earl Gardner and John Clark on French horn have guest spots on this CD. The music ranges from the straightforward swing of Don Cherry's "Art Deco" and a good-humored "Sweet Georgia Brown" to a 121-minute exploration of Billy Harper's "Priestess" and originals by Stewart, Olu Dara and Kelvyn Bell. Stimulating and often-surprising music that is generally more accessible than one might expect. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Bob Stewart
Album: Goin' Home
Year: 1989
Label: JMT Productions
Runtime: 49:43
Recorded at the RPM Studios (New York City, USA) in December, 1988

1.  Subi La Nas Alturas (Kelvyn Bell) 7:04
2.  Art Deco (Don Cherry) 6:14
3.  Bell And Ponce (Olu Dara) 6:00
4.  Tunk (Bob Stewart) 6:55
5.  Sugar Finger (Traditional)5:33
6.  Sweet Georgia Brown Sweet Medley
  - Sweet Georgia Brown (Ben Bernie / Kenneth Casey / Maceo Pinkard) 3:59
  - Windmill (Kenny Dorham) 0:39
  - Donna (Jackie McLean) 0:35
7.  Priestess (Billy Harper) 12:37

Bob Stewart (Tuba)
James Zoller (Trumpet)
Steve Turre (Trombone)
Jerome Harris (Guitar)
Buddy Williams (Drums) - 1,3,5-7
Earl Gardner (Trumpet) - 1,7
Ed Blackwell (Drums) - 2,4
Frank Colon (Percussion) - 1,5
John Clark (French Horn) - 7


  1. Thank you for sharing this very enjoyable and interesting recording.

  2. Hey man, sorry for posting this here but could you maybe reupload "Habib Koite & Bamada - Ma Ya"? I'd be incredibly grateful. Thanks in advance.

  3. Great album!!! I hadn't heard of this incredible musician and I'm enjoying his music a lot. Thank you!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...