Thursday, March 13, 2014

Yo-Yo Ma & Bobby McFerrin - Hush

A surprisingly good collaboration from two virtuosos of their given instruments. Bobby McFerrin, the master of the voice, and Yo-Yo Ma, the master of the cello, combined to perform various pieces, from classical, traditional, and contemporary classical sectors. Some of the McFerrin compositions are quite amazing simply as compositions to begin with, but when the cello and vocal performances are added, they become something even more exciting. More than likely, the main highlight on the album is Rimsky-Korsakov's "Flight of the Bumblebee," which is performed on a dual line by both musicians and allows an ample chance to note the amazing virtuosity of McFerrin, once you can distinguish the voice from the cello (yes, they follow the lines that close). For any fan of either musician, it's a wonderful find of an album. - by Adam Greenberg, AMG

Artist: Yo-Yo ma & Bobby McFerrin
Year: 1991
Label: Sony (1992)
Runtime: 46:34

1.  Grace (Bobby McFerrin) 3:54
2.  Andante (Antonio Vivaldi) 4:03
3.  Flight of the Bumblebee (Nikolai Rimsky-Kossakov) 1:08
4.  Stars (Bobby McFerrin) 4:04
5.  Hush Little Baby (Traditional) 2:36
6.  Vocalise (Sergey Rachmaninoff) 6:26
7.  Musette (J.S. Bach) 4:12
8.  Coyote (Bobby McFerrin) 2:51
9.  Allegro Prestissimo (Jean Barriere) 2:37
10.  Ave Maria (Charles Gounod) 2:37
11.  Hoedown! (Bobby McFerrin) 5:38
12.  Air (J.S. Bach) 5:11
13.  Good-Bye (Bobby McFerrin) 1:11

Yo-Yo Ma (Cello)
Bobby McFerrin (Vocals)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...