Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Ramsey Lewis & Billy Taylor - Wee Meet Again

This 1989 collaboration between two of the most noted piano players in jazz is a superb and moving tribute to many of their contemporaries (and slightly younger counterparts). No rhythm section is used on this album making WE MEET AGAIN a pianist's delight. Plenty of well-known jazz compositions are heard here including John Lewis' classic tune, "Django" and Bill Evans' beautiful "Waltz for Debby." In addition, we hear two compositions by Taylor, entitled "Somewhere Soon" and "Soul Sister." Finally, Danny Zeitlin's tune, "Quiet Now" (a favorite among many jazz pianists) is also represented here. All totaled, a nice cross section of modern jazz piano pieces makes up this release and both Lewis and Taylor shine on all nine tracks. Highlights include, Ellington's "I'm Just A Lucky so and So" and Chick Corea's "We Meet Again" which was written specifically for this recording. The solos on these tunes range from bluesy to bop, and the richness of the tone both musicians get on the piano makes this, as a whole, a very lovely release. Recording information: Master Sound Astoria Studios, Astoria, NY (1988-1989). Photographer: Don Hunstein. Unknown Contributor Role: Tim Geelan. Personnel: Ramsey Lewis (piano); Billy Taylor (piano). Liner Note Author: Billy Taylor . Stereo Review - Performance "Splendid" / Recording "Quite good" - from

Artist: Ramsey Lewis & Billy Taylor
Album: Wee Meet Again
Year: 1989
Label: CBS (1990)
Runtime: 56:19

1.  I'm Just a Lucky So and So (Duke Ellinghton) 4:37
2.  Django (John Lewis) 6:22
3.  Cookin' At The Continental (Horace Silver) 4:37
4.  Somewhere Soon (Billy Taylor) 5:42
5.  We Meet Again (Chick Corea) 7:42
6.  Quiet Now (Denny Zeitlin) 7:22
7.  Soul Sister (Billy Taylor) 5:17
8.  Waltz For Debby (Bill Evans) 6:55
9.  Nigerian Marketplace (Oscar Peterson) 7:42

Ramsey Lewis (Piano)
Billy Taylor (Piano)


  1. Hi, I'd love to check out some of the music you are blogging about, but come up against "this webpage is not available". Where am I going wrong?

  2. Replies
    1. After that write-up, I can't wait to listen; many thanks...



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...