Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Eddie Vinson - Eddie Vinson Sings

One of only two albums that altoist/singer Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson led during 1956-1966, this infectious set finds him performing some of his best known tunes. With assistance by a medium-size group that plays in a Count Basie groove (including such Basie-ites as trumpeter Joe Newman, trombonist Henry Coker, either Frank Foster or Paul Quinichette on tenor, and pianist Nat Pierce), Cleanhead makes such songs as "Kidney Stew," "Caldonia," "Cherry Red," "Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby," and "Hold It Right There" sound full of joy. This CD reissue adds three alternate takes that were originally recorded in stereo. A good sampling of the great Cleanhead. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
Album: Eddie Vinson Sings (Cleanhead's Back in Town)
Year: 1957
Label: Bethlehem Company (20-bit Remastered, 1996)
Runtime: 40:09

1.  Cleanhead's Back in Town (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 3:01
2.  That's the Way to Treat Your Woman (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 2:31
3.  Trouble in Mind (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 2:28
4.  Kidney Stew (Leona Blackman/Eddie Vinson) 2:30
5.  Sweet Lovin' Baby (Chuck Darwin) 2:58
6.  Caldonia (Fleecie Moore) 2:50
7.  It Ain't Necessarily So (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin) 2:48
8.  Cherry Red (Pete Johnson/Big Joe Turner)  2:44
9.  Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby (Bill Austin/Louis Jordan) 2:51
10.  I Just Can't Keep the Tears from Tumblin' Down (Chuck Darwin) 3:11
11.  Your Baby Ain't Sweet Like Mine (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 2:26
12.  Hold It Right There (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 2:29
13.  Trouble in Mind (stereo bonus track) (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 2:26
14.  Kidney Stew (stereo bonus track) (Leona Blackman/Eddie Vinson)  2:27
15.  Hold It Right There (stereo bonus track) (William Gray/Dossie Terry/Eddie Vinson) 2:22

Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson (Vocals)
Joe Newman (Trumpet)
Henry Coker (Trombone)
Charles Fowlkes (Baritone Saxophone)
Nat Pierce (Piano)
Ed Jones (Double Bass)
Gus Johnson (Drums) - 1,5,10,11
Frank Foster (Tenor Saxophone) - 1,5,10,11
Freddie Green (Guitar) - 2,3,6,12
Charlie Rouse (Tenor Saxophone) - 2,3,6,12
Ed Thigpen (Drums) - 2-4,6-9,12-15
Paul Quinichette (Tenor Saxophone) - 2-4,6-9,12-15
Bill Graham (Alto Saxophone) - 1,4,5,7-11,13-15
Turk Van Lake (Guitar) - 2,3,6,12


  1. http://shortText.com/jwRSijvXA0s6cz

  2. It had been a very long time since I listened to some Clean Head Vinson. Thank you very much for this excellent post.

  3. The line-up is amazing, must be a terrific record.
    Thanks a million!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...