Saturday, February 11, 2012

Karrin Allyson - In Blue

Much like Wynton Marsalis' Soul Gestures in Southern Blue trilogy, vocalist Karrin Allyson's In Blue is a celebration of the blues. But where Marsalis focused on original post-bop compositions, Allyson simply performs some of her favorite tunes by composers such as Mose Allison, George & Ira Gershwin, Blossom Dearie, Bonnie Raitt, and others. Coming on the heels of her much-lauded double-Grammy-nominated Ballads: Remembering John Coltrane, In Blue may seem less ambitious than its predecessor, but this would be an unfair judgment. Allyson tackles this concept with as much verve and artistry as the Coltrane project and it's never a bad thing to hear her interpret a standard. Interestingly, this is apparently virgin ground for the singer, as she has never attempted such an extended foray into blues territory before. Not surprisingly, the results are stellar, with Allyson's ruddy voice -- here sounding not dissimilar to Raitt's -- tailor-made for the blues. It doesn't hurt either that she brings along such consummate sidemen as pianist Mulgrew Miller, bassist Peter Washington, and drummer Lewis Nash. - by Matt Collar, AMG

Artist: Karrin Allyson
Album: In Blue
Year: 2002
Label: Concord
Runtime: 66:43

1.  Moanin' (Bobby Timmons/Jon Hendricks)  6:02
2.  Everybody's Cryin' Mercy (Mose Allison)  3:57
3.  Long As You're Living (Oscar Brown Jr./Julian Priester) 4:35
4.  The Meaning Of The Blues (Bobby Troup/Leah Worth) 7:35
5.  My Bluebird (Tommy Flanagan/Jay Leonhart) 4:31
6.  Hum Drum Blues (Oscar Brown Jr.) 5:39
7.  How Long Has This Been Going On? (George Gerschwin/Ira Greschwin) 5:41
8.  West Coast Blues (Granville Burland/Wes Montgomery) 5:02
9.  Evil Gal Blues (Leonard Feather/Lionel Hampton) 4:13
10.  Blue Motel Room (Joni Mitchell) 6:03
11.  Bye Bye Country Boy (Blossom Dearie/Jack Segal) 4:11
12.  Love Me Like A Man (William Smither) 4:20
13.  Angel Eyes (Matt Dennis/Earl Brent) 4:51

Karrin Allyson (Vocals)
Mulgrew Miller (Piano and Fender Rhodes)
Peter Washington (Double Bass)
Danny Embrey (Guitar)
Lewis Nash (Drums)
Steve Wilson (Alto and Soprano Saxophone)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...