Monday, February 6, 2012

Jeff Golub - Soul Sessons

Soul Sessions presents Jeff Golub's attempt to recreate the '60s and '70s recording sessions where musicians played live together in the studio rather than the modern way of recording each separately. It makes for a more lively Golub album than usual and does overcome the overly slick and lifeless production that so many smooth jazz albums suffer from. But it's getting harder and harder to lump Golub with other smooth jazz artists as his albums become funkier and more soulful affairs than the competition offers. It's difficult not to think of late-period Wes Montgomery while listening to the opening "Boom Boom," and when Ricky Peterson's Hammond B-3 shows up here and there it pushes the album into the soul-jazz category. Soul Sessions mixes in some satisfying pop with a sunny cover of No Doubt's "Underneath It All," and the Golub original "Can't Let You Go," with Mindi Abair and Journey's Steve Perry guesting on vocals respectively. Marc Cohn's vocalizing on Jesse Winchester's "Isn't That So," and Luis Conte's focused percussion are also highlights. The album falls prey to smooth jazz's clichés only when saxophonist Richard Elliot sleepwalks through "Playin' It Cool," and Abair and Perry are given nothing more than their respective songs' titles as lyrics. Otherwise, the musicians' interaction is satisfying, but Golub's discography now just cries out for a live album. - by David Jeffries, AMG

Artist: Jeff Golub
Album: Soul Sessions
Year: 2003
Label: GRP
Runtime: 57:27

1.  Boom Boom (Jeff Golub/Chris Palmaro) 4:30
2.  Playin' It Cool (Jeff Golub/Jeff Lorber) 4:49
3.  Cadillac Jack (Neil Artwick/Robert Davis) 5:15
4.  Underneath It All (Gwen Stefani/David Stewart) 4:58
5.  Pass It On (Jeff Golub/Neil Jason/John McCurry) 4:30
6.  Isn't That So (Jesse Winchester) 5:31
7.  Back Home (Jeff Golub/Tim Gant) 5:44
8.  Can't Let You Go (Jeff Golub) 5:58
9.  Vibrolux (Jeff Golub/Jeff Lorber) 5:17
10.  Nubian Blue (Jeff Golub/Chris Palmaro) 5:10
11.  Skin Tight (The Ohio Players) 5:39

Jeff Golub (Guitar)
Luis Conte (Percussion) - 1-5,7-11
Nick Lane (Trombone) - 1,3-5,7,10,11
David Woodford (Tenor and Baritone Saxophone) - 1,3-5,7,10,11
Ricky Peterson (Hammond Organ) - 2-5,7,8,11
Steve Ferrone (Drums) - 2-5,7-11
Michel Forman (Keyboards) - 3-5,7,8,10,11
Rick Braun (Trumpet) - 3-5,7,11
Nathan East (Bass Guitar) - 3-5,7
Richard Elliott (Tenor Saxophone) - 2,5
Jeff Lorber (Keyboards, Rhythm Guitar) - 2,9 
Alex Al (Bass Guitar) - 2,9
Stan Martin (Trumpet) - 1,10
Lincoln Goines (Double Bass) - 1,6
Shawn Pelton (Drums) - 1,6
Andre Berry (Bass Guitar) - 8,10
Peter White (Acoustic Guitar) - 5
Steve Cole (Tenor Saxophone) - 5
Marc Cohn (Vocals) - 6
Kenny White (Keyboards) - 6
Steve Perry (Vocals) - 8
Sue Ann Carwell (Vocals) - 11
Dave Carpenter (Double Bass) - 11
Mindi Abair (Vocals) - 4
Chris Palmaro (Keyboards) - 1



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...