Saturday, July 23, 2011

Blossom Dearie - Blossom Time at the Ronnie Scott's

"Blossom Time At Ronnie's is my favourite recording". - Blossom Dearie, June 1998

From the audience's reaction, Blossom Dearie held London in the palm of her hand during her stand at Ronnie Scott's. They clapped and shouted and, sometimes, to the surprised joy of Dearie herself, sang along. The ten-track set, recorded with Dearie on piano and vocals with drummer Johnny Butts and bassist Jeff Clyne, alternates between comic numbers and ballads, although it's clear which Dearie prefers. Although she has the capability of summoning melancholy and loss as readily as glee, she prefaces the somber "When the World Was Young" by deadpanning to a few audience guffaws, "I feel that I must warn you right now that...there's a very dramatic ending." She's simply bewitching in either mode, mastering the intimacy and confidence that allowed cabaret or jazz singers to hold an audience spellbound, but best when using her girlish voice and comic's timing to skewer romance ("Everything I've Got Belongs to You") or hipness ("I'm Hip"). Compared to her studio sides, her voice becomes yet warmer and more personable in person, with just a rub of vibrato at the end of her lines. Blossom Time at Ronnie Scott's is a splendid complement to her two or three best Verve LPs. - by John Bush, AMG

Artist: Blossom Dearie
Album: Blossom Time at the Ronnie Scott's
Year: 1966
Label: Redial/Universal (1998)
Runtime: 41:24

1.  On Broadway (Barry Mann/Cynthia Weil/Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller) 3:55
2.  When The World Was Young (Philippe Gerard/Angele Vannier) 4:20
3.  When In Rome (Cy Coleman/Carolyn Leigh) 4:45
4.  The Shadow Of Your Smile (Johnny Mandel/Paul Francis Webster) 4:13
5.  Everything I've Got Belongs To You (Richard Rogers/Lorenz Hart) 4:29
6.  Once Upon A Summertime (Michel Legrand/Eddy Marnay/Eddie Barclay) 3:51
7.  I'm Hip (Dave Fishberg/Bob Dorough) 2:48
8.  Mad About The Boy (Noel Coward) 5:05
9.  The Shape Of Things (Sheldon Harnick) 2:42
10.  Satin Doll (Duke Ellington/Billy Strayhorn) 5:13

Blossom Dearie (Vocals, Piano)
Jeff Clyne (Double Bass)
Johnny Butts (Drums)


  1. What a sweet singer!
    Thank you

  2. Any chance for a re-up?

  3. WOW, that was fast.
    Thanks a lot for the re-up I really appreciate it.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...