Sunday, May 1, 2011

Mose Allison - Gimcracks and Gewgaws

The older Mose Allison gets, the sharper his mind becomes, the more idiosyncratic his music sounds, and the more pleasure the aficionado gets for spending the better part of an hour with his latest stuff. By this time, the 70-year old philosopher from Tippo, Miss. had sharpened his wit and insight on life to an even keener edge, musing wryly on materialism, technology, aging, death, even his own name ("MJA, Jr."). The tunes seem to have disappeared almost entirely but it doesn't matter; the lyrics are so damned clever and as hilarious as ever, even when they are obviously sequels to previous masterworks like "Your Mind Is On Vacation" ("What's With You") or "Young Man's Blues" ("Old Man Blues"). Mose's piano style by now has been pared down to its unique essentials, a ceaseless, swinging linear flow drawing from the three Bs -- Bach, Bartok and bop -- and his voice has barely aged since his Prestige days. Mark Shim muses ably on tenor sax now and then, and guitarist Russell Malone ranges all over the stylistic lot between R&B and jazz. At this rate, waiting four years or so between albums in the '90s, Allison has kept his creative batteries fresh every time out. - by Richard S. Ginell, AMG

Artist: Mose Allison
Album: Gimcracks and Gewgaws
Year: 1997
Label: Blue Note (1998)
Runtime: 43:59

1.  MJA Jr. (Mose Allison) 3:30
2.  Gimcracks And Gewgaws (Mose Allison) 5:11
3.  Numbers On Paper (Mose Allison) 2:32
4.  Cruise Control (Mose Allison) 2:56
5.  St. Louis Blues (W.C. Handy) 4:01
6.  Mockingbird (Mose Allison) 2:59
7.  The More You Get (Mose Allison) 2:51
8.  Texanna (Mose Allison) 2:25
9.  What Will It Be (Mose Allison) 3:08
10.  So Tired (Mose Allison/Shapiro Bernstein/Russ Morgan) 4:04
11.  Somebody Gonna Have To Move (Mose Allison) 1:54
12.  Fires Of Spring (Mose Allison) 3:27
13.  What's With You (Mose Allison) 3:29
14.  Old Man Blues (Mose Allison) 1:32

Mose Allison (Piano and Vocals)
Paul Motian (Drums)
Ratzo Harris (Double Bass)
Mark Shim (Tenor Saxophone)
Russell Malone (Guitar)


  1. I have this album and I love it. It is a great recording by a fine pianist and vocalist, above all by a man with a delightful sharpness of mind.
    Itr, a choice of true connaiseur. I congratulate you.

  2. very nice record, thank you itr!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...