Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Clark Terry & Chico O'Farrill - Spanish Rice

Clark Terry joined forces with Cuban bandleader Chico O'Farrill for these 1966 studio session, which consist almost exclusively of Latin tunes. Although there are a number of all-stars present in addition to Terry, including trumpeters Joe Newman, Ernie Royal, and Snooky Young, along with guitarists Everett Barksdale and Barry Galbraith, the solos are all by Terry, so there is little interaction in these brief charts. Terry is in top form, as always, with his rich flügelhorn in "Angelitos Negros" and his fat-toned trumpet in an original blues called "Joonji." Terry and O'Farrill collaborated on the narrative comic original "Spanish Rice," though it isn't particularly memorable. Terry's modification of the lyrics to "Happiness Is" salutes a number of fellow jazz greats (particularly his impression of Louis Armstrong's singing), though the anonymous vocal group that accompanies him is quite forgettable. This is a fun recording that had the potential to be a memorable one, but it falls a bit short. - by Ken Dryden, AMG

Artist: Clark Terry & Chico O'Farrill
Album: Spanish Rice
Year: 1966
Label: Impulse! (2004)
Runtime: 33:47

1.  Peanut Vendor (Moises Simons/Marion Sunshine/L. Wolfe Gilbert) 2:18
2.  Angelitos Negros (Manuel Alvarez Maciste/Andres Eloy Blanco) 2:41
3.  El Cumbanchero (Rafael Hernandez) 2:12
4.  Joonji (Clark Terry) 3:37
5.  Que Sera (Tito Puente) 2:45
6.  Mexican Hat Dance (O. Paul/Felipe A. Partichela) 2:42
7.  Spanish Rice (Clark Terry/Chico O'Farrill) 2:47
8.  Say Si Si (Ernesto Lecuona/Francia Luban/Al Stillman) 2:30
9.  Macarena (La Virgen de la Macarena) (Bernardino Bautista Monterde) 3:02
10.  Tin Tin Deo (Gil Fuller/Chano Pozo) 2:46
11.  Contigo En La Distancia (Cesar Portillo de la Luz)  3:02
12.  Happiness Is (Paul Evans/Paul Parnes) 3:20

Clark Terry (Trumpet, Flugelhorn and Vocals)
Chico O'Farrill (Arranged, Conducted and Vocals)
Joe Newman (Trumpet and Flugelhorn)
Ernie Royal (Trumpet and Flugelhorn)
Snooky Young (Trumpet and Flugelhorn)
Everett Barksdale (Guitar)
Barry Galbraith (Guitar)
George Duvivier (Double Bass)
Julio Cruz (Percussion)
Frank Malabe (Percussion)
Chano Pozo (Percussion)
Bobby Rosengarden (Percussion)
Grady Tate (Drums)

1 comment:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...