Sunday, April 17, 2011

Joey DeFrancesco - Live at the 5 Spot

Organist Joey DeFrancesco clearly had a good time during this jam session. His fine quintet (which has strong soloists in altoist Robert Landham, trumpeter Jim Henry, and especially guitarist Paul Bollenback) starts things off with a run-through of "rhythm changes" during "The Eternal One" and the hornless trio cuts loose on a swinging "I'll Remember April," but otherwise all of the other selections feature guests. Tenors Illinois Jacquet, Grover Washington, Jr., Houston Person, and Kirk Whalum all fare well on separate numbers (Jacquet steals the show on "All of Me"), and on the closing blues DeFrancesco interacts with fellow organist Captain Jack McDuff. Few surprises occur overall (the tenors should have all played together), but the music is quite pleasing and easily recommended to DeFrancesco's fans. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Joey DeFrancesco
Album: Live at the 5 Spot
Year: 1993
Label: Columbia
Runtime: 74:52

1.  The Eternal One (Sonny Stitt) 8:01
2.  Embraceable You (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin) 9:09
3.  I'll Remember April (Don Raye/Gene DePaul/Patricia Johnston) 8:48
4.  Work Song (Nat Adderley) 9:33
5.  Moonlight In Vermont (Karl Suessdorf/John Blackburn) 9:43
6.  Impressions (John Coltrane) 10:29
7.  All Of Me (Gerald Marks/Seymour B. Simons) 8:54
8.  Spectator (Jack McDuff) 10:11

Joey DeFrancesco (Hammond Organ)
Byron Landham (Drums)
Paul Bollenback (Guitar)
Jim Henry (Trumpet, Flugelhorn) - 1,4
Illinois Jacquet (Tenor Saxophone) - 2,7
Robert Landham (Alto Saxophone) - 1
Grover Washington Jr. (Tenor Saxophone) - 4
Houston Person (Tenor Saxophone) - 5
Kirk Whalum (Tenor Saxophone) - 6
Jack McDuff (Hammond Organ) - 8


  1. Many thanks for this. I like Paul Bollenback a lot, and Joey is just Joey.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...