Sunday, April 10, 2011

Eumir Deodato - Inútil Paisagem

This album is a reissue of Deodato's debut solo record, originally registered for (extinct) label Forma in the studios of RCA between July 21 and 23, 1964, when the "Girl From Ipanema" hadn't been presented to American audiences yet. The repertoire consists uniquely of Jobim's classics. Deodato was only 22 years old, but already had five years worth of experience as an orchestral conductor. The revealing original liner notes by Tom Jobim express with subtlety Jobim's amazement at such precocious mastery: "Eumir Deodato is not only the perfect bridge engineer which all arrangers should be, but also the creator and poet which all arrangers must be." The influence of the delicacy of Gil Evans is evident on an album where straightforward, to-the-letter, simple renditions of Jobim's tunes coexist with an inventive use of orchestral backing and choice of timbres. Historic names of Brazilian music can be known in this record, as the late trombonist Maciel and the clarinetist Paulo Moura. Also here are the maestro Copinha, maestro Cipó, Roberto Menescal, Oscar Castro-Neves, and Deodato on the piano, along with other masters. - by Alvaro Nedel, AMG

Artist: Eumir Deodato
Album: Inútil Paisagem
Year: 1964
Label: Universal (24bit mastering, 1999)
Runtime: 34:01

1.  Insensatez/How Insensitive (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 3:27
2.  Corcovado/Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 2:36
3.  So Tinha De Ser Com Voce/It Could Only Happen With You (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Aloysio de Oliveira) 2:14
4.  O Morro Nao Tem Vez/The Hill (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 3:20
5.  Ela e Carioca/She's a Carioca (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 2:26
6.  O Amor Em Paz/Once I Loved (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 3:16
7.  Garota De Ipanema/Girl From Ipanema (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 3:31
8.  Inutil Paisagem/Useless Landscape (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Aloysio de Oliveira) 1:55
9.  Samba De Uma Nota So/One Note Samba (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Newton Mendonca) 2:38
10.  Meditacao/Meditation (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Newton Mendonca) 3:42
11.  Vivo Sonhando/The Dreamer (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 3:10
12.  Samba Do Aviao/Song of the Jet (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 1:47

Eumir Deodato (Piano)
Luis Marinho (Double Bass)
Juquinha (Drums)
Roberto Menescal (Acoustic Guitar) - 1,2,4,6,7,9-11
Meirelles (Flutes and Tenor Saxophone)
Hamilton (Trumpet)
Paulo Moura (Alto Saxophone) - 1,4,6,9
Cipó (Tenor Saxophone) - 1,4,6,9
Copinha (Flute) - 2,7,10,11
Edson Maciel (Trombone) - 2,3,7,8,10-12
Aurino Ferreira (Baritone Saxophone) - 2,7,10,11
Oscar Castro-Neves (Acoustic Guitar) - 3,5,8,12


  1. great drop! thanks a lot itr. peacefrank

  2. Why are posters getting so excited about a description of a record. o_O

  3. Forte abraço!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...