Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Sammy Davis & Count Basie - Our Shining Hour

This is one of popular entertainer Sammy Davis, Jr's best jazz-oriented albums. The CD reissue features Davis with the Count Basie Orchestra performing arrangements by Quincy Jones. Unfortunately, the personnel of the Basie band is not given, but the orchestra mostly acts as a prop behind Davis much of the time anyway. The singer is heard in top form on "Teach Me Tonight," "Work Song," and "Keepin' out of Mischief Now," adding a bit of tap dancing to a lighthearted "Bill Basie Won't You Please Come Home." Some of the more poppish tunes, such as "Blues for Mr. Charlie" and "She's a Woman," are a bit dated, but, in general, fans of Sammy Davis Jr will want this set. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Sammy Davis Jr. & Count Basie
Album: Our Shining Our
Year: 1965
Label: Verve (Digitally Remastered, 1994)
Runtime: 35:05

1.  My Shining Hour (Harold Arlen/Johnny Mercer) 2:10
2.  Teach Me Tonight (Gene De Paul/Sammy Cahn) 3:05
3.  Work Song (Nat Adderley/Oscar Brown, Jr.) 2:12
4.  Why Try To Change Me Now (Cy Coleman/Joseph A. McCarthy) 3:24
5.  Blues For Mr. Charlie (Bobby Sharp) 3:43
6.  April In Paris (Vernon Duke/E.Y.Harburg) 2:51
7.  New York City Blues (Peggy Lee/Quincy Jones) 2:51
8.  You're Nobody Till Somebody Loves You (James Cavanaugh/Russ Morgan/Larry Stock) 2:58
9.  She's A Woman (W-O-M-A-N) (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller) 2:21
10.  The Girl From Ipanema (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes/Norman Gimbel) 4:07
11.  Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now (Andy Razaf/Thomas Waller) 2:51
12.  Bill Basie Won't You Please Come Home (Quincy Jones/Count Basie/Sammy Davis Jr.) 2:38

Count Basie - piano
Sammy Davis Jr. - vocals
Quincy Jones - arrangements
with Count Basie Orchestra



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...