Monday, December 13, 2010

Ray Brown & Laurindo Almeida - Moonlight Serenade

After all these years, some jazz historians continue to lament the end of the big-band era; they continue to remind listeners how much of a thrill it can be to hear 20 or 25 seasoned jazz musicians playing together. But there is also a lot to be said for intimacy in jazz -- the sort of intimacy that serves bassist Ray Brown and Brazilian guitarist Laurindo Almeida delightfully well on Moonlight Serenade. Recorded in Germany in 1981, this session finds Brown and Almeida forming an acoustic duo -- and the two of them enjoy a consistently strong rapport on lyrical, introspective performances of material that ranges from Tin Pan Alley standards ("Blue Skies," "Beautiful Love") to Brazilian songs (Ary Barroso's "Inquietaçao") to European classical music (Johann Sebastian Bach's Air). One of the most ambitious tracks on the album is a medley that combines Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight" with Ludwig van Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata (as opposed to "Moonlight Serenade" -- although this 70-minute CD is titled Moonlight Serenade, the gem that became Glenn Miller's theme song is not part of the program). "'Round Midnight," of course, is one of those standards that has been recorded thousands of times over the years; it has been recorded so often that veteran producer Orrin Keepnews once described it as "the national anthem of jazz." But it isn't every day that one hears "'Round Midnight" successfully blended with Beethoven -- something that Brown and Almeida are able to accomplish because they obviously know one another so well musically. Moonlight Serenade, it should be stressed, wasn't the first time the two of them joined forces: Brown and Almeida had played together in the L.A. 4 in the '70s -- so they were a perfect combination when, in 1981, they recorded the cohesive guitar/bass duets on this excellent CD. - by Alex Henderson, AMG

Artist: Ray Brown & Laurindo Almeida
Album: Moonlight Serenade
Year: 1981
Label: Jeton
Runtime: 70:15

1.  Mondsheinsonate/Round About Midnight (L. von Beethoven/Thelonius Monk) 6:04
2.  Samba De Angry (Tamar Burdett) 3:45
3.  Beautiful Love (Haven Gillespie/Wayne King/Egbert Van Alstyne/Victor Young) 6:34
4.  Air On A 'G'-String (J.S. Bach) 2:32
5.  Malaguena (Ernesto Lecuona) 4:48
6.  Blue Skies (Irving Berlin) 3:48
7.  Make The Man Love You (Traditional) 2:15
8.  Inquietacao (Ari Barroso) 3:12
9.  My Man Is Gone (Ira Gershwin/George Gershwin/Dubose Heyward) 3:44
10.  Laurindos (Laurindo Almeida) 2:37
11.  Mondsheinsonate/Round About Midnight (L. von Beethoven/Thelonius Monk) 6:06
12.  Beautiful Love (Haven Gillespie/Wayne King/Egbert Van Alstyne/Victor Young) 6:46
13.  Air (J.S. Bach) 4:12
14.  Malaguena (Ernesto Lecuona) 4:48
15.  Blue Skies (Irving Berlin) 3:34
16.  Make The Man Love You (Traditional) 2:16
17.  Inquietacao (Ari Barroso) 3:14

Ray Brown (Double Bass)
Laurindo Almeida (Guitar)


  1. thanks so much. never saw this one before. must be a beautiful album.

  2. Thanks for your visit, Scoredaddy. I agree with you. This album is marvellous.

  3. Thank you so much for reposting this! I was never able to get all of the tracks from last years offering. Such an amazing album... my old copy had only 7 or 8 tracks if I remember correctly. Lots of bonus material here!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...