Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Oregon - Moon and Mind

Although it doesn't state it anywhere on the CD itself, this one is a bit different from all of the Oregon projects before or since. This recording on the Vanguard label is from 1979 and has a very good recorded sound for the time. I would say this is my very favorite Oregon recording ("Winter Light" comes a close second), from the bands first decade, my favorite recording at least up until the time they recorded for the ECM lable in the mid 1980's. Oregon has a large body of compositions, many of which have been recorded several times at intervals years apart, with slight changes in arrangement. However this recording has 9 pieces that I don't recall the band has recorded since, so there are no familiar well-known Oregon pieces here. Don't let that stop you, though. I don't know who's idea it was to record the musicians in various combinations, in a series of duets (some with overdubbing it seems), but this was a wonderful idea. Perhaps it was a desire to do something different from previous albums since the band was very busy recording during this period in their career. Anyway, it works for me. We get Ralph Towner on guitars and piano, Glen Moore on upright bass and piano, Colin Walcot on hand percussion and sitar, and Paul McCandless on various wind instruments including flutes. So there are lots of variations of instruments track to track, and the recording never gets boring or "samey" sounding. It seems every combination of the 4 musicians in duet is covered here and there's not a single track that I don't like. That's quite an achievment for me, even from a group as talented as this. If you're only going to get 2 recordings from the groups period from 1969-1983 (after which they went to record for the ECM label) I would not hesitate to pick up this one and "Winter Light". - by Phasedin,

Artist: Oregon
Album: Moon and Mind
Year: 1979
Label: Vanguard
Runtime: 40:55

1.  Person-To-Person (Ralph Towner) 3:15
2.  I Remember Me (Jan Hammer) 4:04
3.  Rejoicing (Traditional) 4:21
4.  The Elk (Paul McCandless) 6:06
5.  Gloria's Step (Scott LaFaro) 3:16
6.  Moon and Mind (Paul McCandless) 8:27
7.  Dust Devil (Paul McCandless) 3:07
8.  Elevator (Collin Walcott/Ralph Towner) 3:57
9.  Dunvegan (Ralph Towner) 4:22

Ralph Towner (Guitar, Piano, Hammond Organ, Percussion) - 1,5,6,8,9
Collin Walcott (Dulcimer, Tabla, Sitar, Piano, Conga) - 1,3,7,8
Glen Moore (Piano, Double Bass) - 2-5,9
Paul McCandless (Oboe, Bass Clarinet, Flute) - 3,4,6,7


  1. Καταπληκτική δουλειά σε όλο το ιστολόγιο. Συγχαρητήρια!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...