Saturday, December 4, 2010

David Friedman - Other Worlds

Friedman's project, Other Worlds, is a trio with an instrumentation and sound all its own, featuring the exciting French accordianist Jean Louis Matinier and the brilliant American bass virtuoso Anthony Cox. Their CD Other Worlds, was recorded in November 1996 for Intuition Records and released in December 1997. It's a spellbinding musical journey, featuring original compositions and improvisational dialogues of incredible depth and beauty. Jazzthetik remarks: "You feel your ears being drawn to the speakers as if by magic! Other Worlds is a true musical adventure". - from

"This record is about total communication, and warmth, reflected in a group sound you can taste. During the sessions I had the constant feeling that the music was playing itself." - by David Friedman

Artist: David Friedman, Anthony Cox, Jean-Louis Matinier
Album: Other Worlds
Year: 1996
Label: Intuition (1997)
Runtime: 56:33

1.  New Los Them (David Friedman) 1:21
2.  Gold/Alchemy (Anthony Cox) 8:12
3.  Triptych (David Friedman) 5:56
4.  Vorstellung (Jean-Louis Matinier) 6:07
5.  Carolyn V. (Anthony Cox) 1:29
6.  Fleure de l'Eau (Francois Verly) 5:29
7.  Le Chat (Jean-Louis Matinier) 4:32
8.  O Grande Amor (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 4:36
9.  Czar (Anthony Cox) 8:03
10.  Tango (David Friedman/Anthony Cox/Jean-Louis Matinier) 5:36
11.  From The Distance (David Friedman) 5:08

David Friedman (Marimba, Vibraphone and Percussion)
Anthony Cox (Acoustic and Electric Bass)
Jean-Louis Matinier (Accordion)
Francois Verly (Percussion) - 2,3,6,7,11


  1. What a beautiful recording this is. I downloaded it a week ago and I have been listening to it every day. "O Grande Amor" is my favourite track. Thank you very much for posting this cd.
    Adrie Meijer

  2. Hi, ITR,
    This one's a beauty--THANKS!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...