Thursday, October 21, 2010

Duke Pearson - The Right Touch

Duke Pearson rises to the challenge of writing for an all-star octet (with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, trombonist Garnett Brown, altoist James Spaulding, Jerry Dodgion on alto and flute, Stanley Turrentine on tenor, bassist Gene Taylor, drummer Grady Tate, and the leader/pianist), contributing colorful frameworks and consistently challenging compositions. The set is full of diverse melodies (the CD reissue has a previously unissued take of "Los Malos Hombres") played by a variety of distinctive soloists; many of these songs deserve to be revived. This is one of the finest recordings of Duke Pearson's career. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Duke Pearson
Album: The Right Touch
Year: 1967
Label: Blue Note (1994)
Total time: 43:00

1.  Chili Peppers 6:56
2.  Make It Good 6:43
3.  My Love Waits (O Meu Amor Espera) 5:57
4.  Los Malos Hombres 6:36
5.  Scrap Iron 5:24
6.  Rotary 6:19
7.  Lol Malos Hombres (Alternate Take) 5:01
All compositions by Duke Pearson

Duke Pearson (Piano)
Freddie Hubbard (Trumpet)
Garnett Brown (Trombone)
James Spaulding (Alto Saxophone)
Jerry Dodgion (Alto Saxophone and Flute)
Stanley Turrentine (Tenor Saxophone)
Gene Taylor (Double Bass)
Grady Tate (Drums)

1 comment:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...