Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Oregon - Northwest Passage

Oregon's first recording in a while features the three surviving original members (Ralph Towner on guitar and keyboards, bassist Glen Moore, and Paul McCandless, who switches between soprano, English horn, sopranino, oboe and bass clarinet) with either Arto Tuncboyaciyan or Mark Walker on percussion. They perform 14 originals that usually avoid blue notes, making the music sound very folk-oriented. There is plenty of variety in the atmospheres, and the consistently intriguing music should appeal to many listeners, including those who are into mood music, world music or folk songs in addition to jazz. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Oregon
Album: Northwest Passage
Year: 1996
Label: Intuition (1997)
Total time: 56:46

1.  Take Heart (Ralph Towner) 5:12
2.  Don't Knock On My Door (Arto Tuncboyaciyan/Glen Moore) 2:12
3.  Lost In The Hours (Paul McCandless) 5:39
4.  Over Your Shoulder (Ralph Towner/Mark Walker) 1:42
5.  Claridade (Ralph Towner) 6:36
6.  Joyful Departure (Ralph Towner) 6:32
7.  Nightfall (Ralph Towner) 8:37
8.  Under A Dorian Sky (Ralph Towner/Paul McCandless/Glen Moore/Arto Tuncboyaciyan) 1:20
9.  Fortune Cookie (Ralph Towner) 4:50
10.  Under The Mountain (Ralph Towner/Paul McCandless/Glen Moore/Arto Tuncboyaciyan) 1:52
11.  L'Assassino Che Suona (Glen Moore) 3:35
12.  Intro (Ralph Towner/Glen Moore) 1:22
13.  Yet To Be (Ralph Towner) 4:14
14.  Northwest Passage (Ralph Towner/Paul McCandless/Glen Moore/Mark Walker) 2:56

Ralph Towner (Classical Guitar, Keyboards, Piano and 12 String Guitar) - 1,3-14
Paul McCandless (Soprano Saxophone, English Horn, Bass Clarinet and Oboe) - 1,3,5-11,13,14
Glen Moore (Double Bass) - 1-3,5-14
Arto Tuncboyaciyan (Drums and Percussion, Cymbals and Vocals) - 1,2,5,6,8,10
Mark Walker (Drums and Hand Drums) - 3,4,7,9,13,14



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...