Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Stanley Turrentine - Don't Mess With Mister T.

Stanley Turrentine's mellow, 'creamy' sound was heard at its best in this excellent album, the last one he recorded for CTI in 1973. Arranged by Bob James, and with a band that featured Richard Tee, Eric Gale, Idris Muhammad and Ron Carter, it enabled the tenor saxophonist to display his smooth, easygoing style in tunes that were catchy and broad-ranging. Contains three previously unreleased selections. - from the CD cover

Artist: Stanley Turrentine
Album: Don't Mess With Mister T.
Year: 1973 (CTI)
Label: Sony (CTI Master Series, 2001)
Total time: 63:57

1.  Don't Mess With Mister T. (Marvin Gaye) 9:51
2.  Two For T. (Stanley Turrentine) 7:06
3.  Too Blue (Stanley Turrentine) 7:21
4.  I Could Never Repay Your Love (Bruce Hawes) 8:22
5.  Pieces Of Dreams (Michel Legrand/Marilyn Bergman) 7:31
6.  Don't Mess With Mister "T." (Alt. Take) (Marvin Gaye) 7:12
7.  Mississippi City Strut (Billy Cobham) 8:42
8.  Harlem Dawn (Bob James) 7:49

Stanley Turrentine (Tenor Saxophone)
Bob James (Piano and Electric Piano)
Richard Tee (Organ)
Eric Gale (Guitar)
Ron Carter (Bass)
Idris Muhammad (Drums)

1 comment:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...