Saturday, June 26, 2010

John Pizzarelli - Bossa Nova

John Pizzarelli's love affair with the bossa nova stretched back over two decades prior to the making of this CD, which is his salute to the legendary Joao Gilberto. Accompanied by his regular group (pianist Ray Kennedy and bassist Martin Pizzarelli) and augmented by drummer Paulinho Braga and percussionist Jim Saporito, along with several others on selected tracks, Pizzarelli's soft, swinging vocals and strong but understated guitar work their magic throughout the session. While most of the pieces are Brazilian works, there are exceptions. Gershwin's "Fascinatin' Rhythm" is easily adapted into a bossa nova, adding backing vocals and the potent tenor sax of Harry Allen. Rocker James Taylor's "Your Smiling Face" benefits from the brisker setting and a flute choir backing Pizzarelli. Broadway composer Stephen Sondheim's "I Remember" adds Don Sebesky's string arrangement, carefully filling the backgrounds in this beautifully sung ballad. Of course, several songs are devoted to the timeless compositions of Antonio Carlos Jobim. All five present on this date have been recorded so frequently that it would be hard to come up with landmark interpretations, but Pizzarelli and company do justice to all of them. Also worth investigating are the leader's two originals, the swinging "Francesca" and the breezy "Soares Samba." The intimate sound throughout this recording is an additional bonus. - by Ken Dryden, AMG

Artist: John Pizzarelli
Album: Bossa Nova
Year: 2004
Quality: eac-flac, cue, log, artw.
Label: Telarc
Total time: 53:55

1.  One Note Samba (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 4:42
2.  Fascinatin' Rhythm (George Gerschwin/Ira Greschwin) 3:53
3.  The Girl From Ipanema (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 4:55
4.  Your Smiling Face (James Taylor)  2:57
5.  Estate (Bruno Martino/Bruno Brighetti) 4:58
6.  Desafinado (Off Key) (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Newton Mendonca) 2:35
7.  Aquelas Coisas Todas (All Those Things) (Toninho Horta) 5:28
8.  I Remember (Stephen Sondheim) 3:45
9.  Francesca (John Pizzarelli) 4:32
10.  Love Dance (Ivan Lins/Paul Williams) 3:39
11.  So Danco Samba (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Vinicius De Moraes) 3:29
12.  Aguas De Marco (Waters Of March) (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 3:59
13.  Soares Samba (John Pizzarelli) 4:56

John Pizzarelli (Guitar and Vocals)
Ray Kennedy (Piano)
Martin Pizzarelli (Double Bass)
Paulinho Braga (Drums)
Jim Saporito (Percussion)
Harry Allen (Tenor Saxophone)
Chiara Civello (Backing Vocals)
César Camargo Mariano (Piano) - 7,11
Daniel Jobim (Backing Vocals) - 3


  1. The second part of the file has been deleted, please could you replace? =|
    Thank you, Your Blog is a great job! :D


  3. Thank you, this album is amazing! :D



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...